Ophea Healthy Schools 2020-21

Seventeen SCDSB schools certified as Ophea Healthy Schools
Posted on 05/20/2021
Students and staff at 17 Simcoe County District School Board (SCDSB) schools have earned Healthy Schools certifications from Ophea for the 2020-2021 school year, more than 25 percent of the certifications earned throughout the province. 

The Healthy Schools certification program recognizes and celebrates school communities for promoting and enhancing the health and well-being of students, school staff and the broader community. Participating schools complete the Six-Step Healthy Schools Process, which aligns with the Ministry of Education’s Foundations for a Healthy School resource. Through a point-based system, schools plan their Healthy Schools process over the course of the school year, outlining the steps needed to achieve certification and apply to be certified as a gold, silver or bronze.

“I am pleased to recognize our schools’ continued dedication and commitment to physical and mental health and well-being, and their achievements in achieving Ophea Healthy Schools Certification,” says Michael Giffen, Superintendent of Education and Well-being. “Their achievements are even more commendable given the adaptations we have all continued to make throughout this school year.”

The following SCDSB schools received Ophea Healthy Schools Certification:

Huron Park Public School
Warnica Public School 

Johnson Street Public School

Bear Creek Secondary School

Assikinack Public School
Baxter Central Public School
Codrington Public School
Elmvale District High School
Hillsdale Elementary School
Huronia Centennial Elementary School
Maple Grove Public School
Minesing Central Public School
Orchard Park Public School
Pine River Elementary School
Terry Fox Elementary School
Trillium Woods Elementary School
Twin Lakes Secondary School

View the full list of 65 healthy schools certifications from across Ontario and learn more on the Ophea website

This initiative links directly to the SCDSB’s Strategic Priorities under the pillars of well-being and community.

Sarah Kekewich, Manager of Communications
[email protected]