SCDSB Update 5 – December 3, 2018

SCDSB Update 5 – December 3, 2018
Posted on 12/04/2018

This update provides highlights of the Simcoe County District School Board’s (SCDSB) Inaugural Board Meeting held Monday, December 3, 2018. Agendas and/or reports considered at this meeting are available at

Director of Education Steve Blake welcomed trustees and special guests to the Inaugural meeting of the Board.

Returns of the Clerks
Director Blake affirmed the certification of the election of trustees by the municipal clerks.

Declaration, Oath (Affirmation) and Code of Conduct
After trustees recited and signed the Declaration and Oath as well as the Trustee Code of Conduct, Director Blake declared the Board of Trustees legally constituted.

Board of Trustees 2018-2022
Photo of Board of Trustees
Pictured left to right - back row:

  • Trustee Tanya Snell representing the Town of Collingwood and Town of Wasaga Beach
  • Chairperson Jodi Lloyd representing the City of Orillia, Township of Ramara and Township of Severn
  • Trustee Peter Beacock representing the Township of Oro-Medonte and Township of Springwater
  • Trustee David O’Brien representing the City of Barrie Wards 1, 2, and 3
  • Trustee Lisa-Marie Wilson representing the City of Barrie Wards 7, 8, 9 and 10
  • Trustee Debbie Connors representing the Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury
  • Trustee Donna Armstrong representing the Town of Innisfil
  • Vice-chairperson Robert North representing the Township of Adjala-Tosorontio, Township of Clearview, Canadian Forces Base Borden and Township of Essa

Pictured left to right – front row:

  • Trustee Michele Locke representing the Town of Midland, Town of Penetanguishene, Township of Tiny and Township of Tay
  • Trustee Sarah Beitz representing the Town of New Tecumseth
  • Trustee Beth Mouratidis representing the City of Barrie Wards 4, 5, and 6
  • Trustee Paula Jade Sandy representing First Nation Communities

Election of Board Chairperson
Trustee Jodi Lloyd representing the City of Orillia, Township of Ramara and Township of Severn was elected to the position of Chairperson of the SCDSB. 

Election of Board Vice-chairperson
Trustee Robert North, representing Adjala-Tosorontio, Clearview Township, Canadian Forces Base Borden and Essa Township, was acclaimed to the position of Vice-chairperson of the SCDSB. 

Selection Committee
Trustees approved the following motion:

That Trustee Peter Beacock be elected as the third member of the selection committee, as stipulated in Article II, Item 2.5 of Inaugural Meeting (Election Year) of the Board By-laws, as set out in Report No. 9, Election of Third Member of the Selection Committee, dated December 3, 2018.

Future Business
Visit for information about future Board and Committee meetings, or to view video archives of Board meetings.

Sarah Kekewich, Manager of Communications, SCDSB
705-734-6363 x11328 or [email protected]