Conservation award recipients

SCDSB staff and students honoured with awards from the LSRCA
Posted on 10/25/2022
The Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority (LSRCA) recently recognized Anne Wright, SCDSB elementary teacher, and the 2022 Enviroventure class at Nantyr Shores Secondary School with conservation awards. 

Anne Wright was presented with the Healthy Community award, which celebrates individuals or groups who have completed a project that increases community connections and engagement. It also acknowledges significant traditional media or social media coverage, delivering innovative environmental programs or services, and sharing knowledge and information through campaigns.

Anne Wright worked with intermediate and Kindergarten students, as well as students with special education needs, at Fieldcrest Elementary School to help them discover their roles and responsibilities as global citizens. They worked together to create a ‘no mow zone’ in the schoolyard, creating a conservation area with native plants, paths and shrubbery for students and staff to learn from and preserve.

The Enviroventure program was presented with the Ernie Crossland Young Conservationist Award from the LSRCA. This award recognizes individuals and groups under 30 years of age who are involved in a significant leadership role in a conservation project, or with a conservation-based group or organization.

Enviroventure is an outdoor and environmental leadership program focused on engaging students through experiential learning to inspire action. Students participate in numerous community initiatives that improve the quality of life for area residents, and those living all around the Lake Simcoe watershed. Watch a video highlighting their achievements.

The LSRCA recognizes watershed heroes who engage in positive environmental actions that contribute to a more sustainable and healthier watershed. Learn more about their conservation awards.

This initiative links directly to the SCDSB’s Strategic Priorities in the areas of Community and Excellence in Teaching and Learning. 

Sarah Kekewich, Manager of Communications
[email protected]