Prime Minister's award recipients

SCDSB educators named as recipients of Prime Minister’s awards
Posted on 10/06/2022
Two Simcoe County District School Board (SCDSB) educators have been honoured with Prime Minister’s Awards for Teaching Excellence.
Elizabeth Dewey, former teacher at Barrie North Collegiate Institute (now vice-principal at Elmvale District High School), and Leah Russell, teacher at Cundles Heights Public School, each received a Certificate of Achievement as part of the Prime Minister’s Award for Teaching Excellence.

“Elizabeth Dewey has always been a very creative teacher and continues to try new approaches in her classes,” stated Greg Brucker, principal at Barrie North CI. “She always allows students to reach their full potential by tapping into their interests and true passions, and by making learning a fun and rewarding experience.”

“Leah Russell cares about the whole student,” said Paula Smith, principal at Cundles Heights PS. “By creating a safe, supportive environment inside the classroom, she builds trusting relationships with her students.”

Summaries of Dewey and Russell’s nominations, including some classroom strategies and outstanding achievements, have been shared on the Government of Canada’s website.

The Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence have recognized exceptional elementary and secondary school teachers in all disciplines since 1994. Teaching excellence award recipients are honoured for their remarkable achievements in education and for their commitment to preparing their students for a digital and innovation-based economy.  For more information about the awards, visit the award website

This initiative links directly to the SCDSB’s Strategic Priorities in the area of Excellence in Teaching and Learning. 

Sarah Kekewich, Manager of Communications
705-734-6363 x11328 or [email protected]