SCDSB Update 15 – May 27, 2020

SCDSB Update 15 – May 27, 2020
Posted on 05/28/2020

In response to COVID-19, the Simcoe County District School Board Education Centre is currently closed. The May 27 Board Meeting was held electronically via teleconference. The recorded version of the meeting is available at

This update provides highlights of the Simcoe County District School Board (SCDSB) Board Meeting held Wednesday, May 27, 2020. Agendas and/or reports considered at this meeting are available at

Report from the Closed Session of the Board in Committee of the Whole
The Board ratified the following recommendations taken in the Closed Session meeting of the Committee of the Whole on Wednesday, May 27, 2020:

  1. That the Board approve the lease renewal for 231 Bayview Drive, Unit L103, City of Barrie as set out in Report No. CL-B-2-a, Lease Renewals – May 2020, dated May 27, 2020.
  2. That the Board approve the lease renewal for 14 Ramblewood Drive, Building E, Unit 9, Town of Wasaga Beach as set out in Report No. CL-B-2-a, Lease Renewals – May 2020, dated May 27, 2020.
  3. That the Board approve the School/System Administrator Eligibility List as set out in Report No. CL-B-2-b, School/System Administrator Eligibility List – May 2020, dated May 27, 2020.
  4. That the Board approve the school administrator appointments as set out in Report No. CL-B-2-c, School Administrator Appointments, dated May 27, 2020:

    Elementary Vice-principal Appointments effective August 27, 2020
    Jennifer Frans from external to Ernest Cumberland E.S.
    Faith Henderson from Couchiching Heights P.S. (Teacher) to Coldwater P.S./Moonstone E.S. (Acting)
    Andrew Hughes from external to Alcona Glen E.S.
    Lisa Kenny from Chris Hadfield P.S. (Teacher) to Hillcrest P.S. (Acting)
    Bronwen Lash from Johnson Street P.S. (Teacher) to Huron Park P.S. (Acting)
    Susan Moxam from Clearview Meadows E.S. (Teacher) to Portage View P.S. (Acting)
    Elaine Vodarek from Student Success (Teacher) to Regent Park P.S. (Acting)

    Elementary Principals Appointments effective August 27, 2020
    Cathy Best from Hillcrest P.S. (VP) to Emma King E.S. (Acting)
    Natalie Edgar from Cookstown Central P.S. (VP) to Sir William Osler P.S. (Acting)
    Kristy Reynolds from W.H. Day E.S. (VP) to W.H. Day E.S. (Acting)

    Secondary Principal Appointments effective August 27, 2020
    Hailey McLean from Georgian Bay District S.S. (VP) to Georgian Bay District S.S. (Acting)

  5. Trustees received the following transfers:

    Elementary Vice-principal Transfers effective August 27, 2020
    Janice Alguire from Assikinack P.S. to Fieldcrest E.S.
    Christie Arthurs from Pine River E.S. to Mountain View E.S.
    Dennis Bradley from Guthrie P.S. to Warnica P.S.
    Kelly Cox from Steele Street P.S. to Clearview Meadows E.S.
    Rebecca Dickie from Coldwater P.S./Moonstone E.S. to Couchiching Heights P.S.
    Len Dunkley from Fieldcrest E.S. to Assikinack P.S.
    Paul Gogan from Huron Park P.S. to Mundy’s Bay P.S.
    Colin McIntosh from Mountain View E.S. to Pine River E.S.
    Cynthia McKellar from Bayview P.S./Mundy’s Bay P.S. to Bayview P.S.
    Marci Morris from Portage View P.S. to Cookstown Central P.S.
    Steve Schaus from Warnica P.S. to Guthrie P.S.
    Eile Short from Ernest Cumberland E.S. to Fred C. Cook E.S.
    Cara Thatcher from Regent Park P.S. to Steele Street P.S.
    Justin Weller from Alcona Glen E.S. to W.H. Day E.S.

    Elementary Principal Transfers effective August 27, 2020
    Alexa Barrie from Ardagh Bluffs P.S. to Lions Oval P.S.
    Linda Blom from Forest Hill P.S. to Warnica P.S.
    Mona Bongard to Indigenous Education
    Alison Bradshaw from Indigenous Education to Ardagh Bluffs P.S.
    Sean Cappadocia from Boyne River P.S. to Goodfellow P.S.
    Carol Carpenter from Emma King E.S. to James Keating E.S.
    Lisa Cooke from Mapleview Heights E.S. to Forest Hill P.S.
    Jan DeCola from James Keating E.S. to Allandale Heights P.S.
    Alison Golding from School Effectiveness Lead to Student Achievement K-8
    Primrose Goss from Lions Oval P.S. to Warminster E.S.
    Pam Hamilton from Allandale Heights P.S. to Hewitt’s Creek P.S.
    Stephanie Jacklin from Tecumseth South Central P.S. (Acting) to Boyne River P.S.
    Nancy Jones from Hewitt’s Creek P.S. to Mapleview Heights E.S.
    Katie Maxwell from Alliston Union P.S. to Adjala Central P.S.
    Patrick Miller return from secondment to W.C. Little E.S.
    Kristen Muscat-Fennell from W.H. Day E.S. to School Effectiveness Lead (SEF)/Improving Student Performance in Math (ISPM)
    Susan Nixon from Tottenham P.S. to Tecumseth South Central P.S.
    Mike Pattison from Adjala Central P.S. to Tottenham P.S.
    Mae Senick from Byng P.S. to Alliston Union P.S.
    Akram Shehata from Sir William Osler P.S. to Tosorontio Central P.S.
    Scott Young from W.C. Little E.S. to Fieldcrest E.S.

    Secondary Vice-principal Transfers effective August 27, 2020
    Edward Baker from Collingwood C.I. to Georgian Bay District S.S.
    Tammy Rodaro to Bear Creek S.S.
    Terrence Wilkinson from Bear Creek S.S. to Collingwood C.I.

    Secondary Principal Transfers effective August 27, 2020
    Dan MacDonald from Elmvale District H.S. to Twin Lakes S.S.
    John Playford from Georgian Bay District S.S. to Student Achievement 7-12
    Mark Ruzylo from Student Success/Achieving Excellence in Applied Courses to Elmvale District H.S.

Other Reports Received as Information
D-7-a 2020-2021 Proposed Budget

D-7-b Staff Reports
Steve Blake, Director of Education, thanked the Board of Trustees for their ongoing support during this unprecedented school closure period. 

Director Blake commented on the SCDSB’s continued focus on student engagement through the Continuity of Learning Plan and the professional development that has taken place with staff. Director Blake noted the importance of recognizing student achievement and the various digital and virtual platforms being used to celebrate students, staff and the community. Director Blake indicated that staff have worked with the Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit on a plan for students and staff to safely retrieve personal belongings, and that those plans will be communicated with families on a school-by-school basis. Director Blake noted that students can expect to receive a final report card, and that information about the 2020-2021 school year will be shared with families as it becomes available. 

Chris Samis, Superintendent of Program and Special Education, and Dawn Stephens, Superintendent of Education, provided an update on the SCDSB’s Continuity of Learning Plan. Superintendent Samis shared that the board continues to engage over 50,000 students in distance learning through both virtual learning environments and the delivery of paper packages, and that over 1,000 educators have received professional development training. Superintendent Stephens noted the ongoing focus on mental health and well-being, and commented on the various supports in place to ensure student success. 

Brian Jeffs, Superintendent of Business and Facility Services, provided an update with regards to the contracts that were awarded within the approved budget for the month of May. Superintendent Jeffs shared an environment and sustainability update focused on the areas of energy conservation, waste diversion, water conservation, school ground greening, environmental education and EcoSchools certification. Superintendent Jeffs noted that over 50 schools were EcoSchool certified in 2018-2019, and 46 schools have completed stage one of certification for the 2019-2020 year. 

Visit for information about future Board and Committee meetings, or to view video archives of Board meetings.

Sarah Kekewich, Manager of Communications
705-734-6363 x11328 or [email protected]