SCDSB Update 8 – December 18, 2019

SCDSB Update 8 – December 18, 2019
Posted on 12/19/2019

This update provides highlights of the Simcoe County District School Board (SCDSB) Board Meeting held Wednesday, December 18, 2019. Agendas and/or reports considered at this meeting are available at

Report from the Closed Session of the Board in Committee of the Whole
The Board ratified the following recommendations taken in the Closed Session meeting of the Committee of the Whole on Wednesday, December 18, 2019:

  1. That the Board approve the acquisition of the easement as set out in Report No. CL-BF-D-1, New Lowell Central Public School – Proposed Easement Acquisition, dated December 4, 2019.
  2. That the Board approve the school administrator appointments as set out in Report No. CL-B-2-a, School Administrator Appointments, dated December 18, 2019:
    Elementary Vice-principal Appointments effective December 10, 2019
    Katherine Blayney from Angus Morrison E.S. (Acting) to Angus Morrison E.S. 
    Tyler Cave from Holly Meadows E.S. (Teacher) to Lake Simcoe P.S. (effective January 6, 2020)
    Kate Copfer from Alliston Union P.S. (Acting) to Alliston Union P.S.
    Warren Kirwan from Tay Shores P.S. (Acting) to Tay Shores P.S.
    Jill MacAlpine from Hewitt’s Creek P.S. (Acting) to Hewitt’s Creek P.S.
    Kristen Nafziger (Teacher) from Allandale Heights P.S. to Mapleview Heights E.S. (effective January 13, 2020)

    Elementary Principal Appointments effective January 6, 2020
    Heather Rocca from Lake Simcoe P.S. (VP) to Codrington P.S. (Acting)

    Secondary Vice-principal Appointments effective December 3, 2019
    Radim Jasek from Stayner C.I. (Acting) to Stayner C.I.
    Ashley Knight from Georgian Bay District S.S. (Acting) to Georgian Bay District S.S.
    Daryl O’Brien from Twin Lakes S.S. (Acting) to Twin Lakes S.S.

  3. Trustees received the following transfers:

    Elementary Principal Transfers effective January 13, 2020 
    Lindsey Cook from Couchiching Heights P.S. to Johnson Street P.S.
    Stephen McClelland from Special Education to Couchiching Heights P.S.
    Peter McLean from Codrington P.S. to Special Education (effective January 6, 2020)

D-4-a SEAC
The Board approved the following motion:

  1. That the Board approve the promotion of the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s Right to Read inquiry via the board’s Communication Department including, but not limited to, social media accounts (e.g. Twitter/Facebook), school newsletters, Parent Involvement Committee (PIC), as well as the board’s public website to maximize exposure, and ultimately participation.

D-5-a Trustee Committee Assignments for 2020
The Board approved the following motion:

  1. That the Board ratify the recommendations of the Selection Committee, as set out in APPENDIX A of Report No. D-5-a, Trustee Committee Assignments for 2020, dated December 18, 2019.

Other Reports Received as Information
D-6-a Business and Facilities – December 4, 2019
D-6-b AAC – September 30, 2019
D-7-a Director’s Annual Report to the Community - 

Questions and Proposals from Trustees
Trustee Peter Beacock shared that he attended several holiday celebrations throughout the month of December. He commended staff and community members for their efforts in putting together these special events and noted the positive impact the addition of the music program has had in SCDSB schools. 

Visit for information about future Board and Committee meetings, or to view video archives of Board meetings.

Sarah Kekewich, Manager of Communications
705-734-6363 x11328 or [email protected]