Simcoe Alternative Secondary School

The SCDSB offers alternative secondary school programs in 10 satellite locations of the Simcoe Alternative Secondary School throughout Simcoe County. The school is designed for students who have difficulty coping with a large school setting and who may benefit from small class sizes, one-on-one assistance, flexibility and close relationships with the teachers.

Students will receive help developing an Educational Pathway Plan, which may include a transition plan to:

  • High school or Adult Learning Centre for completion for their OSSD

  • The workplace

  • Apprenticeship

  • College

How can I attend Simcoe Alternative Secondary School?

Students may either self-refer or be referred by the guidance department, Student Success teams, school administrators or outside agencies.

Students will receive a personal interview to determine if the Simcoe Alternative Secondary School is the best choice to meet his/her needs. All students will be given support in continuing their educational journey, whether or not the student is accepted into the school.

What to expect once enrolled

Upon admission into the Simcoe Alternative Secondary School, students will build an individualized learner profile to help develop educational and career life paths. Course work may be a combination of regular classes, independent courses, dual credits, eLearning and credit recovery.

Staff and students work together to build a community culture where everyone is accepted and encouraged to set goals, develop plans and make progress towards graduation. Every location provides students the opportunity to learn in a safe, non-threatening setting. Smaller class sizes create an atmosphere of personalized learning and individualized or small group instruction.

Students have access to a social worker, special education teacher and guidance counsellor to receive support for any social or emotional issues. They are also available to provide advice on achieving educational, career and life planning goals.

Guiding principles of Alternative Education

It is the student's choice to attend Simcoe Alternative Secondary School. The school provides an opportunity for students to develop an appreciation of their own strengths and capacity to learn and grow, and emphasizes the importance of essential skills and work habits.

Simcoe Alternative Secondary School is focused on individualized, differentiated instruction to support the achievement and well-being all students. Each campus has developed close and supportive partnerships with community organizations to support student growth and development.

Expectations are set high, and students are well-supported as they strive to reach personal and academic goals.

For information please contact altschool@scdsb.on.ca.

Log in to your student email

Locations

Alliston
Address & contact information

 

Address: 169 Dufferin St., Alliston
Phone: 705-435-2707

Teachers

 

Lindsay Williamson
Period 1: Gr. 12 English, College and Workplace level
Period 2/3: Gr. 10 Applied Canadian History

Laura Hope (lhope@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 12 Math, Workplace level
Period 2/3: 

Bradford
Address & contact information

 

Address: 157 Holland St., East, Bradford
Phone: 905-775-9878

Teachers

 

Angela Ferris (aferris@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 11 English, Workplace level
Period 2/3: Gr. 11 Environmental Science

Collingwood
Address & contact information

 

Address: 180 Ontario St., Collingwood, ON
Phone: 705-443-5409

Teachers

 

Angela Bosco (abosco@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 12 English, College and Workplace level
Period 2/3: Gr. 12 Food & Healthy living, Workplace level

Melissa Bader (mbader@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 11 Math, Workplace Level
Period 2/3: Gr. 11 Craft




Essa
Address & contact information

 

Address: 211 Mill St., Angus, Unit 3
Phone: 705-424-6679

Teachers

 

Frank Cunsolo (fcunsolo@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Grade 11 Math, Workplace level
Period 2/3: Grade 11 Exploring the Arts
Innisfil
Address & contact information

 

Address: 1070 Innisfil Beach Rd., Innisfil, Unit 18 & 19
Phone: 705-431-5595


Teachers

 

Karen deBoer (kdeboer@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Grade 12 Math, Workplace level
Period 2/3: Grade 11 Environmental Science

Wes McCarthy (wmccarthy@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Grade 12 English, Workplace/College level
Period 2/3: Grade 10 Canadian History, Applied level


Midland
Address & contact information

 

Address: 478 Bay St., Midland
Phone: 705-526-6381

Teachers

 

Monika Milek-Hopkins (mmilekhopkins@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Grade 11 Math, College level
Period 2/3: Grade 11 Food & Culture, Workplace level

Mary Jeffries (mjeffries@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Grade 12 English, Workplace/College level
Period 2/3: Grade 11 Travel & Tourism
North Barrie
Address & contact information

 

Address: 130 Bell Farm Rd., Barrie
Phone: 705-725-4980

Teachers

 

Greg Taylor (grtaylor@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 10 Intro to Business
Period 2/3: Gr. 11 Math, Workplace level

Graham Sharpe (grsharpe@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 12 English, Workplace/College level
Period 2/3: Gr. 11 Exploring the Arts

Nathan Beer (nbeer@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Credit Recovery, Literacy Focus
Period 2/3: Gr. 10 Discovering the Workplace
Orillia
Address & contact information

 

Address: 70 Front St., Orillia
Phone: 705-325-4911

Teachers

 

Steve Willms (swillms@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 12 Navigating the Workplac
Period 2/3: Gr. 10 Learning Strategies with numeracy focus

Sonja Hillis (shillis@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 11/12 English, College level
Period 2/3: Gr. 11 Aboriginal Beliefs & Values, Workplace level
South Barrie
Address & contact information

 

Address: 2-630 Huronia Rd., Barrie
Phone: 705-728-7601

Teachers

 

Sean Rogers (serogers@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 12 English, College and workplace level
Period 2/3: Gr. 11 Media studies

Samantha Williamson (swilliamson@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 11 Enterprising Person
Period 2/3: Gr. 10 Math, Applied level

Jaclyn Fisher 
Period 1: Gr. 11 World Religions
Period 2/3: Gr. 12 Workplace Math

Helena Broad (hbroad@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Gr. 10 Applied Canadian History
Period 2/3: Gr. 11 Workplace Marketing



Young Parents Program
Address & contact information

 

Address: 1-630 Huronia Rd., Barrie
Phone: 705-728-7601

Teachers

 

Jessica Carney (jcarney@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Expressing Aboriginal Cultures
Period 2/3: Gr. 11 Equity, Diversity & Social Justice 

Janet Trichilo (jtrichilo@scdsb.on.ca)
Period 1: Learning Strategies, Literacy
Period 2/3: Credit Recovery 

Is Alternative high school right for you?