Student Trustees

Three pupil representatives are elected by their peers by April 30 each school year to represent the interests of students of the Simcoe County District School Board for the following school year. Their term of office is from August 1 to July 31. Of the three elected student trustees, one shall be elected from each of the three geographic regions within the Board: North and East; Central and South; South and West.

Policy 2130 - Student Representation on the Board 

Student trustees bring student perspectives to public board discussions, develop as student leaders, increase the Board's awareness of issues of concern to students, assist trustees in determining student issues, gather student opinion and help to foster effective communication between the Board and students.

Further details are available from SCDSB secondary school offices or student councils. As well, students can visit the Ontario Student Trustees' Association website.

Interested in becoming a student trustee?

If you will be a full-time Grade 11 or 12 student, or an exceptional pupil with a board-reduced instructional day in the 2022-2023 school year, and are interested in standing for election as a student trustee candidate, please contact your vice-principal by Jan. 31, 2022.

Learn more: Student trustee application information

Meet your student trustees

Photo of Ife Oluwatayo

Ife Oluwatayo

Nottawasaga Pines SS

List of schools represented:

  • Banting Memorial HS
  • Bradford District HS
  • Collingwood CI
  • Nottawasaga Pines SS
  • Stayner CI
Photo of Nyla Nasir

Nyla Nasir 

Bear Creek SS

List of schools represented:

  • Barrie North CI
  • Bear Creek SS 
  • Innisdale SS
  • Nantyr Shores SS
Photo of Abby Goneau

Abby Goneau

Georgian Bay District SS

List of schools represented:

  • Eastview SS
  • Elmvale District HS
  • Georgian Bay District SS
  • Orillia SS
  • Twin Lakes SS