BRAVO Award recipients

SCDSB staff receive awards for excellence in communications
Posted on 11/25/2022
In October, the Simcoe County District School Board (SCDSB) communications team received two Coup de Couer awards during the 2022 BRAVO! Awards Gala hosted by the Canadian Association of Communicators in Education (CACE). The communications team includes Sarah Kekewich, Manager of Communications, Jamie Campbell, Assistant Manager of Communications, Melanie Slade Morrison, Senior Communications Officer, Curt Dafoe, Communications Officer, and Alexis Farrell, Communications Officer.

The awards were received for the SCDSB’s 2022 commencement video and the #SDCDSBShareTheLove staff appreciation campaign.

The 2022 commencement video is a celebration of our students’ accomplishments and the return to in-person celebrations. The communications team attended 15 commencement ceremonies across Simcoe County within seven hours, creating a collaborative video that captured the most pivotal moments and overall emotions of the day. Watch the 2022 commencement video.

The #SCDSBShareTheLove staff appreciation campaign consisted of hearts that were printed with each of the SCDSB’s four strategic priorities and made available to all staff. Staff were encouraged to write personal message and share hearts with their colleagues. Thousands of hearts were distributed and shared. Watch this video highlighting the #SCDSBShareTheLove campaign.

The Canadian Association of Communicators in Education (CACE) offers resources and professional development for educational communications professionals and system leaders in Canada. For more information, visit The CACE BRAVO! Awards, presented by SchoolBundle, are an annual, Canada-wide awards program designed to recognize excellence in school board communications, including school public relations, communications, marketing and engagement.

This initiative links directly to the SCDSB’s Strategic Priorities in the areas of Community and Well-being. 

Sarah Kekewich, Manager of Communications
[email protected]